Only at the “suburban library near I94” will you see hip librarians

I recently received a gift of temporary tattoos.  Librarian temporary tattoos.  They were so great that I had to share them with the rest of the team at the suburban library near I94.  

*I don’t know who that womyn is, but I probably would like to meet her; image taken from McPhee.com *

Those little adhesive pieces of temporary art really boosted morale.  It was impressive how everyone came together to admire each others new ink.  That temporary ink in way created a new bond.  This is an incredible group on any given day, but this was an exceptional day.

Later when I was at the circulation desk sporting my new tattoo and  helping a couple of patrons, a man asked me if I was a librarian.  I told him, “not today.”  He then said, “when did librarians become so hip?”  I know he was talking about my crunk tattoo.  I told him, “we are bringing it back.”  He then said, “Good, now that librarians are hip, more kids will come to the library.”  He then looked at his daughter and said, “only in at the ‘suburban library near I94’ will you find hip librarians.”

hmmmmm, yeah…….. and maybe a little further north in a few weeks……..

But anyway, stereotypes are stereotypes and regardless if they are negative or positive they are still a stereotype that take away from the profession.  So, lets work on getting past it and help our patrons get past it too.  

Team Suburban Library Near I94 and their new temporary ink:

These tattoos also gave us a little Shakespeare lesson we will most likely not forget anytime soon, “ALAS POOR YORICK” “alas poor Yorick” “alas poor Yorick” “alas poor Yorick” “alas poor Yorick” “alas poor Yorick” “alas poor Yorick””alas poor Yorick” “alas poor Yorick” “alas poor Yorick” “alas poor Yorick” “alas poor Yorick” “alas poor Yorick” “alas poor Yorick” “alas poor Yorick” “alas poor Yorick” “alas poor Yorick” “alas poor Yorick” “alas poor Yorick” “alas poor Yorick” “alas poor Yorick” “alas poor Yorick” “alas poor Yorick” “alas poor Yorick” “alas poor Yorick” “alas poor Yorick” “alas poor Yorick” “alas poor Yorick”

Leave a comment

Filed under library, pop culture

Leave a Reply

