Layout change

Now that I have completed my MLIS, I have found some time to spend on other fun stuff.  I thought this blog layout needed to be updated a bit.  I have also added a few items to the side bar such as Delicious and a tag cloud.  I hope to post entries on various web 2.0 and library 2.0 related items…continuing ed.

Delicious is a social bookmarking site used to share, store and find web bookmarks.  It is a really useful way to “archive” those random articles you find and may want to come back to at a later time.  It is like a diary of newspaper clippings.  Take some time and play with the site.  It is also interesting to revisit the bookmarks to remind you what you thought was important 6 months ago.

Tag cloud is a visual of user-generated tags typically describing the contents of of a web site or blog.  The tag cloud on this page consists of the tags I have associated with my blog entries.  The larger the font, the more times I have used that particular tag. The tags are also hyperlinks that will take you directly to the entry where that tag was used.  Pretty awesome.

Guess what, libraries could also use cloud tags and Delicious.  Participatory Services?  Getting the patrons involved?   Readers advisory?  Dialogue?  Community?

Leave a comment

Filed under library

Leave a Reply

