Day 3 of QC and IFLA

I said no to the eggs this morning and went with potatoes, a croissant, and a chocolate milk.  After breakfast, Anne, Larry and I took the bus towards the convention center.  We got off the bus a few stops early to grab a cup of coffee.  However, nothing was open until we got right next to the convention center.  I started out the day by at the Rare Books and Manuscripts session.  There was 1 paper in French, one in English and 1 in Spanish, so I  used a translation head set; totally awesome and accessible.

 

I then attended the literacy and public libraries with multicultural populations.  Upon my arrival, the room was a chaotic scramble of people; it seemed to overwhelming to me for the small space so I decided to take a walk around the old city. 

After the walk I attended a class meeting.  We broke up into small groups to discuss out conference experiences thus far related to what we have discussed in our course work throughout the program.

I then had lunch of bar fare with the two boys, Adam and Larry.  We had a great conversation about music.

 

After lunch I attended the Library Theory session which focused on the Library as a place (third place).  I came in late, so I sat in the second row and was surrounded by the presenters.  A little uncomfortable.  Olaf Eignenbrodt a young man from Berlin spoke about the Arendian Perspective (Hanna Arendt German-American Political Scientist).  As Mr. Eignenbrodt walked up on stage and welcomed us, I heard a womyn behind me say “sounds like he is 14.”  Not cool. 

Another presenter used the psychology of religion to examine the library as a place (church as place v library as place; analogy of church and library being a place).  This analogy didn’t seem to go over with me very well.  I need some time to let this marinate before I go into it more, I don’t want to say something I may regret.

I next attended the session Women, Information and Libraries Discussion Group.  This was a room with several round tables. 

Seven womyn and one man were at my table.  The man happened to be the Director a Finland University Library.  At first I thought it was brilliant for him to attend a session about empowering women, as it is likely he works with women.  But as the session went on it turned out his motives may have been different.  Dr. Loriene Roy, past ALA president, discussed how managing a successful blog and being a part of a social network such as Facebook can be very helpful ways to empower ones career.  I attended a small groups session with 12 other women  from the U.S., Canada, South Africa, and the Philippians to discuss Big Sister, Little sister, a mentoring program IFLA will soon be implementing.

 

To end the night I attended movie night where we watched The Hollywood Librarian directed by Ann Seidal.

  There were several clips of movies with librarians such as Party Girl, Desk Set, Matilda, Storm Center, Soylent Green, and Goodbye Columbus.  Along wit the clips there were interviews with librarians across the U.S.   They all discussed how fortunate they are to be librarians, how they love their jobs.  The other main discussion point was lack of funding, typical.  A womyn from France sat next to us and she told us she had no idea that libraries in the U.S. struggle as they do.

Ann Seidal has come up with a Librarian Paradox:  The better librarians do their jobs, the less respect they get; librarians are making themselves invisible the harder they work.

Librarians make their jobs look easy; therefore the public is not clued into how much amazing work librarians actually do.

Librarians must find new ways to explain what we do; organize knowledge, collect knowledge, and disseminate knowledge. 

After dinner with Caralyn at a crepe shop and a street performance, we called it an early night.

This conference stuff is exhausting.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Day 3 of QC and IFLA

Leave a Reply

