Day 3 in Montreal…Bonjour!

Last night Mucha and I took the subway to Parc Jean Drapeau to see Radiohead with 35,000 other people.  Montreal is on an island and Jean Drapeau is on a different island, so pretty much everyone needed to take the subway, the yellow line to get to the show.  And it rained.  It did not pour, but the rain was constant, making for a big ol mess.

We stood in line for about 2.5 hours to get through security.  Tough start to the night.  However, they did have beer tents along the way just in case you were thirsty waiting for security.  The beer cups even had covers on them so you could buy several and not spill, smart Canadians.  Radiohead played a great show, the crowd was plentiful and wonderful.  I have some video of the show, but at this time I do not have the band’s permission and I don’t want to mess with copyright, which I am trying to get better at.

Also at the show we had frites (french fries).  We decided not to go with the national food, poutine (gravy and melted cheese over french fries), I mean is that gravy vegetarian?  I have a few days, I will try to muster the courage.  The Canadian concert scene also introduced me to male port-a-potties.  Like whoa.  Brilliant way to make sure 35,000 people can practice good hygiene and I have to admit, I never had to stand in line to use the womyn’s (standard) port-a-potty.

Overall, excellent show, Thom Yorke was brilliant.

This morning for breakfast we had cranberry juice, orange juice, coffee, mango, cherries, and pineapple with blueberry pancakes.

We stumbled upon the city library.  We were walking and all of sudden it was there.  Unfortunately, it only houses a children’s collection right now.  In the next month, that collection will also be moved to the National Library.  This library will no longer be used as a library 😦

I have been to a library everyday so far on this vacation and I am not even at the conference yet.  Its really too bad graduate school does not have extra credit.

 

Then we did some MORE shopping in the Village.  I have purchased four hats so far.  Really only accessories, oh and a Harry Potter like cardigan.  Mucha on the other hand has a totally new wardrobe, I hope she remembers I have to take one of the suitcases with me to Quebec City.

We stopped at a pizza place for lunch, Piazzetta.  We had a veggie pizza and then for dessert we had chocolate and raspberry  mousse.  In a creepy way it kind of looked like the U.S.

After lunch, I could not stop thinking about the National Library we had visited on Tuesday.  We had noticed that you could take a audio walking tour and I was still obsessed with finding a sign for the place.

Did you know the Quebec National Library (Grande Bibliotheque):

is the largest library in the French speaking community

was built in 2005

contains +4 million documents

subscribes to 160 newspapers

subscribes to 1,600 journals

has 200,000 novels

the entire 4th floor is media (music cds and vinyl, DVDs, viewing stations, audio mixing stations, and sheet music).  OMG!

The Grande Bibliotheque is “dedicated to the disseminaiton of culture.” Totally rad mission.

PS, I found a sign

I don’t know how I missed it earlier.

Oh, by the way, last week I was interviewed for a mini series in the Woodbury Bulletin.  The series is about people who work in the community, who may be a familiar face.  Like Ben Folds said, rockin the suburbs.  Well, like I was told, “nothing is ever really off the record” or apparently in context.

2 Comments

Filed under library, pop culture, restaurants

2 responses to “Day 3 in Montreal…Bonjour!

  1. Chasing bananas? People are going to think you’re on drugs.

    Montreal looks freakin’ awesome. And, that mousse looks TOTALLY like the U.S.

    The kids are finel; suprisingly enough, i have not killed them yet.

    🙂

  2. Your blog is interesting!

    Keep up the good work!

Leave a Reply

