It could be fierce

Like Knittinmama I too saw Nancy Pearl speak today.  I learned a great deal about reader’s advisory techniques that I can’t wait to deploy once I have the appropriate job title.  As Knittinmama wrote, Nancy Pearl is not against Library 2.0, but she didn’t seem to love it like Garfield loves lasagna.  However, I love 2.0 which means that I would make a great side kick for Nancy Pearl.  A librarian with an action figure such as Nancy Pearl really needs a side kick.  Nancy Pearl, I could totally be your side kick, hook me up with an action figure, it would be totally “sweet.” (Nancy Pearl said “sweet” to me, she told me all the kids are saying it)  I didn’t have the heart to tell her,  the kids have moved on from “sweet” and thanks to Christian Siriano everything is now “fierce.”  See, she needs me to keep things current.  I was actually too nervous to say anything to her except to ask her for a photo.  If you don’t understand why I was nervous, it was kind of like meeting Justin Timberlake, Miley Cyrus, the Jonas Brothers, The Beatles, Angelina Jolie or David Beckham.  Don’t think I haven’t thought this action figure thing through.  My accessories would be:  a black pair of glasses, a white pair of glasses, a laptop, a digital camera, an ipod and a messenger bag to keep everything in.  My action, since Nancy Pearl has taken the shushing action, would be throwing up the peace sign.  Come on, remember in elementary school when you were about to leave the classroom, the teacher would raise her arm and make a peace sign.  At this moment all students recognized the peace sign as an instruction to be quiet.  The peace sign would totally be my action.  Just in case you can’t picture it, I have a visual for you.  Nancy Pearl and her side kick, not the peace sign action.

np.jpg 

I am the one on the left without the action figure.  Nancy Pearl, I am totally up for the challenge.

 On another note, Friday night I participated in the Grown Up Spelling Bee held at the 331 Club in NE Minneapolis.  It was a great experience, my first spelling bee ever and I am 28, I suggest everyone compete next year.  But as I was approaching the venue I saw this and had to take a picture to post here

mac.jpg 

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “It could be fierce

  1. mryknx

    Tim of LibraryThing commented on my post within about an hour. He talks about how LibraryThing computes its recommendations and its really interesting. Also a good reminder of how ‘out there’ our posts are.

    I had a great time at the talk. I’ve been looking at my bookshelves differently and imagining little doorways coming out of them.

    I love the idea of you being Nancy’s sidekick and I’m only sad that I didn’t think of it first. Your arch enemies could have names like – The Shredder, Censor, and Moldman!

  2. LTL: Lindsey the Librarian

    as soon as i was accepted into library school, a friend gave me the nancy pearl action figure. i them promptly went to B&N to buy Book Lust. pearl is definitely our mascot! i love the pic of you, her, and little pearl. 🙂

Leave a Reply

