Two hours of poverty to get to paradise OR Who am I to say what poverty is; not everyone’s poverty is the same

Last week I went to the airport at 5:30am.  This is what it looked like.

airport.jpg

After putting up with all that, a five hour plane ride followed.  Hopped on a bus for a couple of more hours.  On the bus ride I saw

hanover.jpg

There was no way the bus I was riding was stopping, but none the less it made me happy to see a library. Libraries, all over the place, all up in my face.  After driving through 2 hours of poverty, paradise arrived.

resort.jpg

Paradise had something that would traditionally be called a library, but paradise called it ENTERTAINMENT.

entertainment.jpg inside-lib.jpg

Board games at the library?  Brilliant!  I have not seen this before.  Paradise has something here.  There is gaming at the library, why not Scrabble, Bananagrams or Cribbage?  What would Nancy Pearl think? Paradise was too surreal for this librarian in training, so I had to keep it real.  451 Fahrenheit came out of the suitcase and met the sun.  I am embarrassed to say, but this was my first time with 451.  Lets just say it kept me pretty grounded while surrounded by all of the gluttony.

 “There you have it Montag.  It didn’t  come from the Government down.  There was not dictum, no declaration, no censorship to start with, no!  Technology, mass exploitation and minority pressure carried the trick, thank God.  Today, thanks to them, you can stay happy all the time, you are allowed to read comics, the good old confessions or trade journals”  – Ray Bradbury

 Leaving paradise I was confronted again with reality.

fence.jpg

“Books were only one type of receptacle where we stored a lot of things we were afraid we might forget.  There is nothing magical in them at all.  The magic is only in what books say, how they stitched the patches of the universe together into one garment for us.”  – Ray Bradbury  

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Two hours of poverty to get to paradise OR Who am I to say what poverty is; not everyone’s poverty is the same

  1. Was it an interesting ‘beach read’?
    Have you read Brave New World, because we could either compare them OR it would be a great follow up book to 451.

  2. mryknx

    When I was a kid, you could check out puzzles at my local branch. They always had missing pieces, but it was circled on the cover picture. It’s a perfect thing for a library. Who does a 1000 piece puzzle twice?

Leave a Reply

